Treating PCOS

December 4, 2007 at 6:55 pm 2 comments

Traditionally, doctors have overlooked PCOS unless it is diagnosed relative to infertility or irregular bleeding. If diagnosed, it was and often is still commonly treated with birth control pills. The Pill lessens the symptoms of PCOS by short-circuiting ovulation and giving the ovaries a rest from follicle production. This is always an option for women looking to avoid pregnancy. Testosterone levels will go down on the Pill, and it is good for regulating cycles but it won’t address the underlying problem with insulin resistance.

Some doctors are now prescribing a diabetes drug called metformin (Glucophage), for blood sugar control, but if a woman with PCOS doesn’t attend to some of the dietary and lifestyle choices exacerbating the PCOS, her ovaries become polycystic again when she goes off or reduces the mediation.

This is particularly irksome for women trying to get pregnant.

Treating PCOS really requires a combination approach, whether it is a chronic problem in younger women or a temporary condition of perimenopause. Women can often do a lot on their own to reduce their polycystic ovaries with nutritional supplements, endocrine support, paying attention to nutrition and being active. Such an approach should be personalized and based on your particular symptoms so it can be effective in bringing the body back into hormonal balance.

If you have PCOS or think you do, I hope that you will take heart in realizing there are many things you can do to alleviate your symptoms naturally, without drugs.

Like any condition related to hormone imbalance, taking the right steps to improve your lifestyle and nutrition will do wonders to restore your well-deserved good health. It’s important to see your doctor for a diagnosis – then design a plan of eating, targeted nutrients and activity to resolve the problem!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

PCOS and Insulin Resistance Real Food Versus Enriched Flour

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aryssabrooke  |  December 19, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    Hi Regina,

    I was diagnosed with PCOS in 2003. In 2004, I had gastric bypass surgery and initially lost 120 lbs, alleviating the majority of my PCOS symptoms.

    I was fine until I made the mistake of going off yasmin because I felt it was lowering my sex drive. I gained 40 lbs back in 8 months.

    Now I’m trying to get myself back on track, and figure out what’s going to work for me and what isn’t. Top that off that my husband and I want to try having a baby as soon as I can lose some of that weight, and you have the stuff my nightmares are made of.

    I’ve got several books, and I know that low carb is the way to go, which goes inline with what I should be eating for the GBP . But I’d really like some guidance on the supplements, and how they should work with the vitamins I take normally with the GBP, etc. Any ideas where to go with that?

    The really crappy thing? The latest endocrinologist I went to says I don’t have PCOS because all the symptoms I used to have I don’t have any more thanks to the PCOS – you know, except for the facial hair, irregular periods, and a nice round tire around my lower belly. But those weren’t enough to convince him. Then he found one cyst (I’d never had one before, just everything else.), but still maintains that its the ‘wrong kind of cyst’.

    *sigh*

  • 2. Jeffrey Dach MD  |  February 15, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    PCOS, the Hidden Epidemic

    The fundamental problem with PCOS is anovulation and not making progesterone for two weeks every cycle.

    This lack of progesterone leads to hormonal imbalance in the ovary, causes the ovary to produce testosterone and leads to the irregular menstrual cycles and infertility. This is aggravated by obesity and insulin resistance.

    Progesterone is missing, therefore replacing it makes sense.

    To read more, click here:

    Understanding PCOS, the Hidden Epidemic by Jeffrey Dach MD

    my web site

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds


